Telecoms veteran to help steer Delta Partners

As chairman of its international advisory council, Kai-Uwe Ricke will help support the UAE-headquartered firm's management team as well as finetune its structure and corporate governance. The former chief executive of Deutsche Telekom will also be a member of the firm’s private equity advisory board.

Advisory and investment firm Delta Partners has named Kai-Uwe Ricke chairman of its international advisory council, which was recently created to help finetune Delta’s structure and corporate governance. Ricke will also be a member of the firm’s private equity advisory board.

Based in Zurich, Ricke is the co-founder and chief executive of Talkline, a German mobile communications service provider. Previously, he was the chief executive of s Deutsche Telekom, T-Mobile International and T-Mobile Deutschland.

Currently, Ricke holds a seat in the supervisory boards of Italian insurance company Generali, German internet services company United Internet and the board of Dubai-based telecommunications operator Oger Telecom.

He is an active partner of other private equity firms as well. Ricke is a board member and co-investor with EQT at German cable network operator Kabel Baden-Wuerttemberg and with Warburg Pincus at German payment services company Easy Cash. In addition, he is a non-executive chairman of Apollo Investment Europe, as well as US-based Exigen Capital’s advisory board.

Kai-Uwe Ricke

Delta Partners intends to expand its scope to growth markets beyond the Middle East and Africa region, Font added.

In November 2008, Delta promoted associate partner Juan Ignacio Cifre to partner, and Joao Sousa and Josep Que to associate partners. Sousa and Que lead client relationships and are involved in the firm’s business development efforts across the region.

Delta is currently investing out of the $76 million MENA Telecom Fund, its debut fund focused on telecom, media and technology companies.

The firm presently employs more than 130 professionals in the UAE, Bahrain and South Africa.